top of page

WIRED MAGAZINE--The Best Loungewear for Cozying Up at Home

No one has time to look professional anymore. Just toss on one of these hoodies, shirts, or sweatpants and bask in the snuggles.

I HAVEN'T TOUCHED 75 percent of my wardrobe since March 2020. I kid you not when I say I can count the number of times I donned a button-down shirt on one hand. I'm lucky to be able to work from home, but it has made my attire entirely casual. My colleague Louryn Strampe must have taken note of my new wardrobe when she enlisted my help to test loungewear (how could I say no?). If you're going to wear sweatpants, hoodies, and tees every day, you may as well buy ones with supremely soft fabrics that make you feel great, right?


Honorable Mentions

Other Loungewear We Like

Here are a few more items we tested and like.

  • Public Rec Go-To Crew for $54: This is similar in comfort and length to the Henley above. It's not too tight and has a cooling sensation thanks to its breathability. I just wish there were more color options. 69 percent pima cotton, 23 percent Tencel, 8 percent spandex.

  • Feat BlanketBlend Hoodie for $118: This pullover hoodie has a wonderful cut; it's oversized but not too tight or too loose in any one area, and the neckline doesn't feel suffocating. The color selection is trendy. I also liked the big kangaroo pocket. Proprietary BlanketBlend fabric.

  • Girlfriend Collective Compressive High-Rise Legging for $68: These are good for workouts, but they're comfortable enough to wear on lazy days. We recommend them in our Recycled Products Buying Guide. The colors are bright, and the fabric, while thin, is durable. 79 percent recycled polyester, 21 percent spandex.

  • Recess Windows Crewneck for $60: Beverage company Recess makes different styles of these comfy crewneck sweatshirts. I'm fond of the Windows-inspired design—it has a neat '90s vibe, and the graphic design isn't too busy. The neckline stays put, the cuffs don't get warped, and the weight is perfect for lounging. 100 percent cotton.

  • BraveHoods Yoga Tunic for $45: This tunic is a great length. I enthusiastically believe in the “leggings as pants” movement, but most comfortable tops aren't long enough to cover your rear. This one is. It's a little snug, so consider sizing up. The graphic detail is unobtrusive, and the oversize hood makes me feel like I'm in Assassin's Creed (in a good way). BraveHoods donates its clothing to kids with cancer and their siblings; for every item sold, another is donated. 100 percent cotton.

  • Nadaam Cashmere Sweater for $75: This sweater is a good option for days where you want to feel comfortable without looking sloppy. Admittedly, I don't have enough firsthand experience with cashmere to wax poetic about how this compares to more expensive pieces. What I do know is that it's supremely soft, has a great hip-length fit, and keeps me warm without overheating me. Fair warning, though: It's a magnet for pet hair. 100 percent cashmere.

Read whole article here.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page